These popular topics are heating up. Explore today's most viewed pages.
Examination or release of confidential information is strictly prohibited. Specific information that may not be released includes, but is not limited to:
Examination or release of this information includes, but is not limited to:
The Sheriff’s Office will begin to process your request once it is received. The record will not be released until payment is received. A contact phone number and/or email must be provided so contact can be made to inform requestor of total fees. Payments will not be taken until the processing fees are calculated and an invoice is provided to requestor.
Invoice payments accepted: Cash, Money Order, and Checks (business checks only)
Invoice payments should be mailed to:
Pottawattamie County Sheriff’s Office
1400 Big Lake Road
Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Military Records Check can be requested by the armed forces by faxing directly to Records Division at 712-890-2207, or the local recruiter can bring them to our office.
Criminal History Background Checks can be provided for Pottawattamie County only. This does not include juvenile records, traffic records (can be obtained from the Iowa Department of Transportation) nor any other agency. We suggest you check with other agencies in this area for possible additional information. Records are only provided to the individual requesting the background check unless you are law enforcement, probation officer, or military. You will need to provide a photo ID at the time of request and fill out a Request for Criminal History Records application.
If you need a statewide Iowa Criminal History Record check, you will need to contact the Division of Criminal Investigation in Des Moines. DCI accepts online applications and payments for criminal history record checks.
Iowa Criminal History or call (515)725-6072
If the record exceeds 10 pages, an additional $.50 per page may be added.
If any records requests exceeds 1 hour to process, the Sheriff's Office may charge an additional fee to compile the information requested.
A $30 processing fee applies to all photograph orders, in addition to the total cost of photo printing.
Some videos may be longer in length and will only fit on a flash drive/Blu-Ray, and may not qualify for the share file option.
Any special processing fees will be the responsibility of the purchaser and will be added to the above pricing.
(712) 890-2236 (Records)
(712) 890-2230 (Civil Main)
(712) 890-2236 (Records)
(712) 890-2230 (Civil Main)
8:00am to 4:00pm
Monday - Friday
Holiday Closures